Posted On September 21, 2020 In Uncategorized
Traffic laws are in place for a reason – they ensure that everyone operates their vehicle safely. Unfortunately, there are times when careless or negligent drivers get behind the wheel of a vehicle, violate traffic laws, and cause accidents and serious personal injury cases. Very rarely do vehicle accidents occur without a violation of a traffic law happening first. Here, we want to discuss some of the most commonly broken traffic state laws in Texas.
Running a red light is a serious violation in Texas. However, this is one of the most common tickets involving a moving violation. In Texas, running a red light could result in a $200 fine. If a driver is caught on camera running a red light, the fine is around $75.
According to data available from the Texas Department of Transportation, approximately one out of every five accidents involves distracted drivers. In Texas, it is illegal to use a wireless communication device for electronic messaging while operating a motor vehicle. This includes texting as well as reading or writing emails. However, many drivers still use cell phones while they are behind the wheel.
Drivers are required by Texas law to wear a seat belt when they are operating their vehicles. Drivers can face fines of up to $200 if they are pulled over and not wearing a seat belt.
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is incredibly dangerous, and Texas prohibits people from driving with a blood alcohol concentration of .08 percent or higher. For commercial vehicles, drivers must not operate above .04% blood alcohol concentration.
It is vital the drivers operate only if they have a valid driver’s license. Drivers who operate without a license could face significant fees and even jail time.
Every driver in Texas must have valid insurance, and operating without auto insurance could result in a fine of up to $350. Additionally, drivers in Texas could face full financial responsibility in the event they cause an accident when they do not have insurance.
Speeding is one of the most common traffic violations, and this type of non defensive driving behavior can lead to serious accidents. It is vital that every driver understand the importance of posted speed limits for the roadway they are on.
In Texas, drivers must use their headlights at night and when visibility is less than 1,000 feet in front of the vehicle. A common rule of thumb is that drivers should also turn their headlights on 30 minutes before sunrise and 30 minutes before sunset.
The laws regarding U-turns in Texas are fairly minimal. Texas traffic laws indicate that a person can only make a U-turn if they can clearly see at least 500 feet both in front of and behind them. However, drivers also need to be aware that there may be places where U-turns are prohibited, and this will be indicated by signage. According to the Texas DOT, there were more than 256,000 total traffic collision injuries and more than 3,610 traffic collision fatalities during the latest reporting year across the state. It is vital that all drivers obey Texas traffic laws. Failing to do so almost always results in an accident occurring.
At Mike Love & Associates, LLC, we review your situation for free and spell out every option that may be available to you. If we can’t help there is no charge.